looking across rutleigh ball towards dartmoor this morning

looking across rutleigh ball towards dartmoor this morning

I love this weather! Finger-numb, frozen-face cold mornings; the farm and surrounding countryside is bleached by frost and ice until the first ray of sun spears a low shaft of rose-gold light through the filigree of shilloueted branches.

holly leaves crystalised with frost

holly leaves crystalised with frost

I love this weather! I revel at the crack and crunch of frozen water, leaves and mud underfoot. An invisible ice-glaze coats the yards and dogs, humans and bobcat slip-slide in comic ballet of uncontrolled glissades; astonished looks of surprise across their faces (not the bobcat, but certainly the driver’s!)

cow moor in heavy frost this morning

cow moor in heavy frost this morning

I love this weather! The cattle huff clouds of warm  vapour-white breath across the cow palace; their dark chestnut coats are spangled with glistening beads of moisture.  The cold has made them impatient for their morning feed.

oak and ivy patterns

oak and ivy patterns

I love this weather; I feel alive!