Procrastinate, postpone, put off, delay, dilly dally, dragging feet
Drumming, hammering, pounding – the rain buckets down

water gushing over the dam

water gushing over the dam

All day avoidance tactics. Work to do. Toppling piles of the stuff. But somehow I just can’t settle. I vaccinate Ginny’s calf with her second does of bluetongue vaccination; the last animal to be covered, hoorah. I come back in drenched; dry, change and get ready to work…

Sidestepping the real tasks I clean up my computer; I arrange all my books in alphabetical order. Eventually I make it to the work in hand. I try to call people…planning department, builder, energy consultants (totally useless), soil association (bone to pick), Devon Cattle Breeders (cattle to sell): no one’s there; are they playing the avoidance game too or they are away on holiday? Scuppered; I don’t need much to stop me dead in my tracks today.

I take the dogs for a walk hoping the pouring rain will refresh enliven and stimulate.
Plish, plash, plosh, splish, splash, splosh – I’m in a world of green wetness.
I slip trying to cross the dam to take a photo of the impressive waterfall. My boot fills with cold muddy water. Squelch squash squish – warm spurts are propelled out of my boots. The dogs are intrigued by the noise and pouts of water landing on their noses.

the young stock sheltering from the rain

the young stock sheltering from the rain

After I returned from my wet walk I tried to upload my photos onto my blog, but as yesterday’s luck would have it they refused to upload. After an hour or so fiddling and loosing patience I was rescued – by some good friends. A life saver; wine, nosh, talk and a laugh!

wet wetness

wet wetness

