zebu-cattle-1-san-cristobel-22-jan-08-reduced.jpg

a handsome zebu bull with one of his cows on San Cristobal

Before I completely forget about some of the wondrous animals I interacted with whilst away, I thought I would upload a few images to share with you. You will have gathered by now, I’m passionate about animals, and in particular mammals – from the teeniest rodent through to gargantuan whales. All, wild and domesticated, human and not so human, fascinate me. I thirst to know more! Here are a few encounters…

kinkajou-and-paula-1-dolphin-bay-25-jan-08-reduced.jpg

This little creature with the fearsome teeth is a kingajou. He’s a nocturnal animal with an extraordinary prehensile tail (he hangs from trees with it). He eats fruit and insects with a long tongue that he also delights in sticking down your ear in the middle of the night. He also had a penchant for big toes…we were entranced by each other!

kinkajou-and-paula-2-dolphin-bay-25-jan-08-reduced.jpg

My birthday wish was to find dolphins…a day or so late but nevertheless we found a large, playful pod that swam with the boat. If you look very carefully you can see the shadows of them around the prow. Very difficult to photograph – a lot of swirls in the sea!

paula-looking-for-dolphins-3-27-jan-08-reduced.jpg

We managed to capture this one – just!

dolphin-27-jan-08-reduced-2.jpg

Sharing breakfast with Honey the parakeet – a traitor – he would have your finger off if he could!

paula-and-parrot-2-breakfast-23-jan-08-reduced-2.jpg

Hence the photo of me wagging my finger at him.

paula-and-parrot-1-breakfast-23-jan-08-reduced-1.jpg

A beautiful tiny, tiny rufus-tailed hummingbird flitting around the veranda. The image is possibly bigger than real life.

rufous-tailed-hummingbird-dolphin-bay-27-jan-08-reduced.jpg
And last but not least, for Mary, to show I’m a lazy bugger really!
paula-in-hammock-2-dolphin-bay-hideaway-25-jan-08-reduced.jpg
